Search for: Matt Hume

Get distracted this fall with a few good comic books

By Matt Hume, September 15 2017 — Textbooks are expensive, boring and have too many words. Reading them is for nerds. But do you know what’s cheap, cool as hell, filled with pictures and can hide conveniently between textbook pages? Comic books! Your brain deserves a break from the monotony of studying. Comic books allow…

New Music: Milo

By Matt Hume, September 6 2017 —  Over the course of his career, Rory Ferreira has called himself many names. Some know him as Scallops Hotel, but most recognize him simply as Milo. Since his twin EPs in 2013, Things That Happen at Day and Things That Happen at Night, Milo has honed a style…

Frosh 2017: Entertainment

By Matt Hume MUSIC It’s the perfect time to enjoy live music in Calgary — new venues are constantly popping up alongside a wide array of classic spots for every taste. For everything from rock to hip-hop, Broken City on 11 Ave. has your back. The rowdy Ship & Anchor Pub on 17 Ave. scratches that…

Staff

Editor-in-Chief: Jason Herring, 403-819-3453 eic@thegauntlet.ca News Editor: Tina Shaygan news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Jesse Stilwell opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Matt Hume arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Christie Melhorn sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Derek Baker humour@thegauntlet.ca Photo Editor: Mariah Wilson photo@thegauntlet.ca Digital Editor: Nikayla Goddard online@thegauntlet.ca Volunteer Coordinator: Trevor Landsburg volunteer@thegauntlet.ca Graphic Artist: Samantha Lucy graphics@thegauntlet.ca   Business Manager: Kate Jacobson business@thegauntlet.ca

Contact

For editorial and general inquiries, contact the editor-in-chief at eic@thegauntlet.ca. For business inquiries, contact the business manager at business@thegauntlet.ca. See our grievances policy here. Editor-in-Chief: Jason Herring// eic@thegauntlet.ca // 403-819-3453 News Editor: Tina Shaygan // news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Jesse Stilwell // opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Matt Hume // arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Christie Melhorn // sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Derek Baker // humour@thegauntlet.ca Photographer : Mariah…

Hiring | Staff | Advertising | Contact | PDF version | Archive | Volunteer