Search for: susie ngo

One STEP forward, two steps back

How the provincial summer jobs program harms international students and the job market By Susie Ngo, April 11 2019 — As spring enters full bloom and summer glistens on the horizon, many post-secondary students are turning their attention to a daunting task: Finding a job for the summer. For many, summer jobs are crucial to…

Staff

Editor-in-Chief: Kristy Koehler, 403-970-9217 eic@thegauntlet.ca   News Editor: Gurman Sahota news@thegauntlet.ca   Opinions Editor: Cristina Paolozzi opinions@thegauntlet.ca   Arts & Culture Editor: Troy Hasselman arts@thegauntlet.ca   Sports and Wellness Editor: Tori Taylor sports@thegauntlet.ca   Humour Editor: Frankie Hart humour@thegauntlet.ca   Photo Editor: Mariah Wilson photo@thegauntlet.ca   Digital Editor: Masoud Fatemi online@thegauntlet.ca   Volunteer Coordinator: Susie Ngo volunteer@thegauntlet.ca…

Contact

For editorial and general inquiries, contact the editor-in-chief at eic@thegauntlet.ca. For business inquiries, contact the business manager at business@thegauntlet.ca. See our grievances policy here. Editor-in-Chief: Kristy Koehler // eic@thegauntlet.ca // 403-970-9217 News Editor: Gurman Sahota // news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Cristina Paolozzi // opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Troy Hasselman // arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Tori Taylor // sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Frankie…

Head-to-Head: Should election campaign posters be professional or gimmicky?

Posters have too much cosplay, too little connection By Susie Ngo, March 7 2019 — It’s hard to miss the multitude of campaign posters plastered in every hallway from Craigie Hall to Science Theatres during the Students’ Union election. They’re big, bold and colourful, often featuring smiling candidates decked out in quirky costumes or, in one case, holding a puppy. Bearing similarities to war propaganda posters, they…

Federal government can do more to promote mental health awareness

By Susie Ngo, February 6 2019 — The recent Bell Let’s Talk Day to promote awareness for mental health issues across Canada raises questions on whether the federal government does enough in their own mental health initiatives. The Mental Health Commission of Canada, a relatively young offshoot branch of Health Canada, was founded in 2007 with the mission to “create the…

Hiring | Staff | Advertising | Contact | PDF version | Archive | Volunteer