Search for: Jesse stilwell

Multiple perspectives valuable in politics

By Jesse Stilwell, February 7 2017 — Lately, many of us have observed or taken part in heated political discussions. Events like the terrorist attack at a mosque in Quebec City, Trump’s travel ban and even Justin Trudeau’s cross country speaking tour can bring out deeply held political values that divide friendships and hurt relationships…

Sensationalist crime coverage is harmful to society

By Jesse Stilwell, January 31 2017 — While watching shows like Criminal Minds and CSI: Miami might be a delightful way to waste an afternoon, discussing and learning about morbid details of ongoing criminal trials is often the opposite. A number of criminal trials will take place in Calgary this year and people deserve to…

Mandatory wellness course a good idea for all faculties

By Jesse Stilwell, January 24 2017 — In response to increased discussions on mental health, the Werklund School of Education will now offer a mandatory course on wellness. Other faculties should consider adopting this initiative. According to the Centre for Addictions and Mental Health in Toronto, mental health absences from work cost the Canadian economy…

Student feedback systems require reform

By Jesse Stilwell, January 10 2017 — Everyone has a horror story about a professor whose inability to articulate their expectations had you wondering how they got a PhD in the first place. Or perhaps a professor who didn’t provide clear direction on assignments, wrote exams full of trick questions or lectured faster than anyone…

Women’s bodies don’t belong in advertising

By Jesse Stilwell, November 29 2016 — Everyone knows that sex sells. For a long time, that has meant sexualized portrayals of thin white women. Women’s bodies are objectified in countless marketing campaigns to generate massive profits. But people have been calling out these corporations for objectifying women and this has pushed companies to change…

Staff

Editor-in-Chief: Jason Herring, 403-819-3453 eic@thegauntlet.ca News Editor: Tina Shaygan news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Jesse Stilwell opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Matt Hume arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Christie Melhorn sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Derek Baker humour@thegauntlet.ca Photo Editor: Mariah Wilson photo@thegauntlet.ca Digital Editor: Nikayla Goddard online@thegauntlet.ca Volunteer Coordinator: Trevor Landsburg volunteer@thegauntlet.ca Graphic Artist: Samantha Lucy graphics@thegauntlet.ca   Business Manager: Kate Jacobson business@thegauntlet.ca

Contact

For editorial and general inquiries, contact the editor-in-chief at eic@thegauntlet.ca. For business inquiries, contact the business manager at business@thegauntlet.ca. See our grievances policy here. Editor-in-Chief: Jason Herring// eic@thegauntlet.ca // 403-819-3453 News Editor: Tina Shaygan // news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Jesse Stilwell // opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Matt Hume // arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Christie Melhorn // sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Derek Baker // humour@thegauntlet.ca Photographer : Mariah…

Five sweet dates with your Tinder bae

By Jesse Stilwell, March 28 2017 — Navigating dating apps can be quite the adventure. One minute, you’re making clever small talk like “nm, hbu?” and the next, you’re planning your lengthy six-month relationship. Here are some excellent date ideas that will ensure you get laid and then fall in love for the next six…

Hiring | Staff | Advertising | Contact | PDF version | Archive | Volunteer