Search for: mariah wilson

The Gauntlet transitions to a monthly magazine format

By Scott Strasser, April 4 2017 — After 57 years of printing weekly newspapers — and for a time bi-weekly — the Gauntlet is moving to a monthly print and daily website format. Starting this spring, the Gauntlet will stop producing a weekly newspaper and will instead publish a monthly magazine. “We recognize the media…

Bike Share returns to campus following five-month winter hiatus

By Mariah Wilson, March 21 2017 — After enduring five months of snowy weather, the University of Calgary Bike Share program is ready to restart operations on March 27. During their first year of existence, the Bike Share hosted over 15 events including organized rides, speaker series and public outreach events. In the past few…

Staff

Editor-in-Chief: Jason Herring, 403-819-3453 eic@thegauntlet.ca News Editor: Tina Shaygan news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Jesse Stilwell opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Matt Hume arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Christie Melhorn sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Derek Baker humour@thegauntlet.ca Photo Editor: Mariah Wilson photo@thegauntlet.ca Digital Editor: Nikayla Goddard online@thegauntlet.ca Volunteer Coordinator: Trevor Landsburg volunteer@thegauntlet.ca Graphic Artist: Samantha Lucy graphics@thegauntlet.ca   Business Manager: Kate Jacobson business@thegauntlet.ca

Contact

For editorial and general inquiries, contact the editor-in-chief at eic@thegauntlet.ca. For business inquiries, contact the business manager at business@thegauntlet.ca. See our grievances policy here. Editor-in-Chief: Jason Herring// eic@thegauntlet.ca // 403-819-3453 News Editor: Tina Shaygan // news@thegauntlet.ca Opinions Editor: Jesse Stilwell // opinions@thegauntlet.ca Arts & Culture Editor: Matt Hume // arts@thegauntlet.ca Sports Editor: Christie Melhorn // sports@thegauntlet.ca Humour Editor: Derek Baker // humour@thegauntlet.ca Photographer : Mariah…

New yoga series incorporates touch-based healing

By Christie Melhorn, October 24 2017 —  Most of us are familiar with the concept that the mind, body and spirit are unified. But we likely understand the power of that unity and the value of strengthening it to a lesser extent. During my first year at the University of Calgary, I viscerally learned how…

Mayoral candidates take to campus for forum

By Daniel Huss and Tina Shaygan, September 20 2017 — Nine candidates seeking the mayor’s chair squared off in MacHall on Sept. 20 in the second debate of Calgary’s 2017 municipal election. The sold-out event, hosted by the University of Calgary, the Students’ Union and the Graduate Students’ Association, heard candidates share their views on…

Escape school stress at the campus community garden

By Christie Melhorn, September 19 2017 —  Tucked beside the Cascade residence parking lot is the campus community garden — a hidden treasure at the University of Calgary. The humble space stretches the length of a soccer field and boasts looming sunflowers, plump zucchinis and plenty of potatoes. It is run by the Office of…

Hiring | Staff | Advertising | Contact | PDF version | Archive | Volunteer